Branding is All About Emotion

DownloadedFile

By: Mallorey Hutton

While sitting in class on Tuesday morning listing to Ann Marie Levis (@AnnMarieLevis), of Funk/Levis Associates, talk about her experiences in the business world; she said something that really caught my attention. She said that “Branding is all about emotion.” If you really think about it, it’s true. Our book defines a brand as “a name, term, sign, symbol, or any other feature that identifies one seller’s good or service as distinct from those of other sellers. Although, you could define emotion in a variety of ways, I would define it as something that causes us to react in a certain way. If a company can band its product in a way that cause people to have a positive emotional response to it then they can in turn make those people have a positive response to their product or company.

Two advertisements came to my mind when I think of “branding is all about emotion”; both of which came from Super Bowls. The first is the Dodge, Jeep, and Chrysler commercial that featured Clint Eastwood that aired during the 2012 Super Bowl. I feel that this commercial played on the emotions of Americans. I took sad and frustrated emotions and turned them into positive ones, by showing Americans that although we’ve been through a lot that we can come together and make things better. I can remember watching this commercial for the first time. I honestly had no idea who the ad was for but I remember feeling happy and empowered after watching it. When I realized that it was a car commercial, on some level I had a positive emotions towards the car company too. Now everything the think of Dodge, Jeep, and Chrysler cars, I think of the Halftime in America commercial.

The second advertisement was the Ram Trucks commercial that aired during this year’s Super Bowl. It depicted farmers as hard working , tough people in order show that Ram Trucks had these same qualities. Although this commercial may not have caused an emotional response for everyone; it did for me. I grew up on a farm my whole life and I believe that farmers do possess these qualities; so it made me react positively toward the commercial. This in turn made me have positive attitude toward Dodge.

Mallorey Hutton

@malloreylynne

2 thoughts on “Branding is All About Emotion

  1. Great post! I loved both of those ads and they really do draw on our emotions in a very effective way.

  2. Ann got me thinking that most effective marketing people must be very effective problem solvers. They must be able to generate a solution to a problem in a matter of minutes.

Leave a Reply

